In-ga-tu, The Always Reborn

The symbol of the In-ga-tu used in the A-ra din manuscripts and art.

Early in the known history of the A-ra din, the first In-ga-tu were discovered.  Over the millennia that followed, thousands of these holy ones were discovered and named.

The A-ra din believe that every generation is reborn into the next, but a few of these, the In-ga-tu retain some power and/or purity from their previous lives.  These former San-kals, or leaders, return as the living heart of their tradition.

When an In-ga-tu dies, a group of San-kals convene and form a Ring that will stay together until the adept's new form is found.  The child is then raised in their order and prepared for their life to continue.  The exact rites and procedures for identifying the young In-ga-tu vary from tradition to tradition, but the name and empowerments are not bestowed on the child until proof of their identity is secured.

Mu-mu, the always being reborn.  A more poetic name for the In-ga-tu

Among the laity and culture surrounding the A-ra din, the In-ga-tu are often referred to as Mu-mu (muh-moo), which in An-sarran means, "alway being reborn."  This is a term of endearment common among those raised in the sect.  In An-sarran literature, the term seems to have originated as a pet name of the moon.  It was later applied to the In-ga-tu.

During The Silence, the rites and rituals of the A-ra din came to be seen as myth and metaphor.  The In-ga-tu were lost.

After the fall of the Dark Night, the remaining A-ra din San-kals gathered in conclave to reclaim their lost arts.  The Conclave formed seven rings to seek out the Men-san, "The Crowned," the seven In-ga-tu who traditionally lead the A-ra din.

Kim Men-san, "The Tablet of the Crowned

Before The Silence, the Men-sans not only ruled, but were responsible for maintaining the struggle against the darkness.  

The Seven Men-sans are:

  1. Ku-igi, The Pure Eyes
  2. Nabku-zu Gasam, The Ocean of Wisdom
  3. Ku'men-dalla, "Noble Beaming Crown"
  4. Um-miagal, "The Great Scholar"
  5. Gu-nir-aka, "At whose feet one submits"
  6. Su-dandul, "The Red Hat"
  7. Tab-inim, "Holder of Command/Order/Oath"

Ku-igi, The Pure Eyes

The Ku-igi is the Mu-mu of the first of the A-ra din.  He is not referred to as the founder, because they believe that would mean he started something.  Sometimes, he is called Zan, "The Chosen."

No one believes his name was Ku-igi, that is a title that some sources use for any enlightened being.  One A-ra din tablet names 27 Ku-igi throughout time, most of whom lived before The Great Long Night.

Zan was an ascetic during the Long Night who taught the A-ra dinir, the Way of the Gods. No complete biographies are known to have survived.

The Kin Zan, "The Order of the Chosen," was tasked by the Conclave with finding the Ki-dul aga, "The Secret Crown," the name given to all In-ga-tus before their awakening.  Their hunt continues.

Nabku-zu Gasam, The Ocean of Wisdom

The Nabku-zu Gasam is an adept of the Ku-sig ki-umun or Golden Lineage, the youngest school in the A-ra din.  Believed to be an incarnation of the Alad-sar En'a-ba-u-sar, "The Lord who see the Totality/Cosmos," who embodies compassion.  The title Nabku-zu Gasam, which means "The Ocean of Wisdom," was bestowed by the Eternal Padishah of the Nadee Jheel early in his reign.

When he named the Nabku-zu Gasam, a council of Sen-kals discerned and named 36 Sennin, 10 Nadee Jheel including earlier Padishahs, and 14 A-ra din mystics and monks who were incarnations of En'a-ba-u-sar before the first Nabku-zu. 

The Fifth Nabku-zu established himself as the first among equals and de facto leader of the A-ra din.  This tradition continued until the controversy surrounding the naming of the 15th Nabku-zu.  The majority of the adepts believed that the child named was chosen for political reasons, and was not the true incarnation.  After that, the Nabku-zu was considered lost and never sought again until the Conclave named a ring to rediscover the Holy One.

Many believe that the Nabku-zu is only second to the Ku-igi as the least likely to be found. The Kin Ku-zu, "The Order of Wisdom," continues the search.

Ku'men-dalla, "Noble Beaming Crown"

The Ku'men-dalla is head of the Isin'si-ga ki-umun or Whispered Lineage, which is one of the four main schools of the A-ra din.  They claim their tradition goes back to the Zan Tab'sud-ana, "The Diamond Holder", and ancient Ku-igi who is believed to be an Alad-sar.  It is said that the Second Ku'men-dalla was the first recognized In-ga-tu, but that is a tradition that stretches back in pre-history, so it cannot be confirmed.

The Ku'men-dalla are able to manifest the Ni'el-su, "The Self Rising Crown," a radiant, numinous crown from which their power flows.

The Kin Dalla, "The Order of the Ray," was the first to find their Ki-dul aga, and restore the Men-san to the throne.

Um-miagal, "The Great Scholar"

The Um-miagal is the seconds highest adept of the Ku-sig ki-umun or Golden Lineage after the Nabku-zu Gasam, and is believed to be the incarnation of Nu’enir-kara, the Alad-sar of infinite light.

Traditionally, The Um-miagal and the Nabku-zu Gasam were responsible for finding each other.  So when the Kin Nam, "The Order of Fate," was chartered, they were consecrated in the name of Nu’enir-kara and En'a-ba-u-sar.

The Um-miagal was the second Ki-dul aga found, and restored.

Gu-nir-aka, "At whose feet one submits"

The Gu-nir-aka is the traditional head of the Ara-usum ki-umun, "The Lineage of the Glorious Dragon," and is called En-ara, "The Great High Priest."  

Su-dandul, "The Red Crown"

Tab-inim, "Holder of Command / Order / Oath"


The An-sarran Language uses the Tciaar Alphabet invented by Ricardo Reséndiz Maita and Cialy Saturno Maita in September 2005.  It is inspired by Arabic and Mongolian.